This guide will show you how to block and unblock a contact in Facebook Messenger. This guide will show you how to unblock and block someone using Facebook Messenger on an iPhone, Android device and PC or MAC.
Well, let’s get started!
There are many reasons why someone would block another person on Messenger.
This guide will help you block someone in Messenger if you are feeling blocked for one of the above reasons or any other reason.
Block (or Unblock) Someone on Facebook Messenger
You should know, before I explain the steps, that blocking someone on Messenger will prevent them from contacting you. And you won’t have any way to contact them. You won’t see the person’s last login or any updates to their status.
Each operating system and device has a different procedure to prevent someone from interfacing with you via Messenger.
It is easy to block someone in Messenger on iOS (iPhone, iPad).
Open the Messenger app and select the conversation that contains the unwanted contact. Click on “Block Messenger” from the drop-down menu. Then click “Block”. The block is immediately activated
The steps to block a contact in Messenger on Android are very simple.
First, log in to Messenger using the app. Then, go to the chat section. Choose the conversation you’re not fond of. Tap on the “i” (located on the right side, above the profile name). Scroll down until you see “Block”. Now, a new window will appear where you can block the contact either on Facebook or Messenger. Click on “Block Messenger” and “Block”.
PC and Mac
If you’re used to using Facebook Messenger on your PC or Mac you can block users from contacting you this way.
Login to Facebook, then click “Messenger”. Choose the conversation with the person you want to block. Click on the “i” icon in the upper-right corner. Click on “Privacy & support” and choose “Block Messages”. Now Facebook will ask for confirmation. You only need to click “Block Messages”.
You can block a Messenger user. You don’t need IT skills.
Remember that blocking someone in Facebook Messenger does not mean blocking them from Facebook. You can block a contact on Messenger to prevent them from contacting you via Messenger or Facebook Chat. They will still be able to view your posts, comments and likes. It depends on your privacy settings. You can prevent this by blocking it on both Facebook and Messenger. You can find the Facebook Guide here.
You can unblock someone by opening the Messenger conversation and chatting with them.
You’ll see the option “Unblock” below. This will allow you to restore your situation as it was before the lock.
This is the same procedure for iPhone, Android or PC.
Frequently Asked Questions(FAQ)
If you unblock someone, you will not receive any messages they may have sent while you were blocked.
What happens if I block someone in Messenger?
After I explained how to block someone in Messenger, let’s look at what happens next.
When you block someone in Messenger, they cannot send you any messages
If you block someone from sending you messages, you will also be blocked. You will not find any text boxes, camera icons, GIF icons, etc. when you open a message thread. The “Something Is Wrong” message will appear.
Can you receive a call from a person who has blocked you in Messenger?
Blocking a contact in Messenger does not stop all communication with that person. Messenger hides audio and video buttons, unlike WhatsApp, where they are still visible when blocking a contact.
Can blocking someone stop a conversation?
No. The conversation thread will remain in Messenger even if you block someone. You can still read old conversations in Messenger until you delete them manually.
Can blocked contacts see the online status?
You will not be aware of the person’s current status in Messenger, or whether they are active. The blocked person will not be able do this.
What happens to the stories?
Facebook and Messenger are both similar, but they’re also different. If you block someone in Messenger, they won’t see your Facebook or Messenger stories. If you share something on your Facebook story and you haven’t yet blocked that person, then the blocked contacts will not be able see it. You won’t be able to see a blocked person’s Facebook history or Messenger history.
What happens to groups of people?
If you block someone, group chats will not be affected. Both of you will be able see the messages sent to each other in groups that are shared. Facebook will alert you if you join a group that contains a person who you have blocked in Messenger.
Is the blocking of a contact notified to the other party?
No. No. As we have seen, the other person will not be able to contact you or send you a message.
Facebook and Messenger block a contact differently
It is not the exact same thing to block someone on Facebook and Messenger. When you first press the block button in Messenger, you’ll be asked whether you want to only block their messages, or also block them on Facebook.
You can block the contact on Messenger only. It will not affect your Facebook profile. You will be able view their profile on Facebook and interact (comments, likes) with them. You will only lose access to the contact’s profile on Facebook and any other interactions, including Messenger.
This guide is now complete. I hope you’ve found the information you needed. You should know I am happy to assist you. Just to be sure that you didn’t miss anything, let me quickly recap what I have said.
In the first section of this guide, I explained how to block someone on Messenger from an iPhone, Android device, PC, or Mac. It is very easy to do and doesn’t require any computer knowledge. Next, I showed you how unblock that person. In the second section, I explained what happens when a user is blocked. I showed what they could no longer do, and what they still can.
This is it. Please comment if you have any questions or doubts. I will answer them as soon as possible.